16 McDonough Cup


Current Tournament Status: practice round set for 11 am Sunday, Oct. 30

Welcome to the 2016 McDonough Cup, hosted by Rollins College at Rio Pinar Country Club in Orlando, Florida. The field features 17 of the top Division II schools in the country, four of which are in the Bushnell Golfweek national poll, and the seventh-ranked JUCO in the country.

Lynn won a second-straight McDonough Cup last season as part of a record-setting event. The Fighting Knights set a new scoring record with 836 strokes, bolstered by a record 269 final round. Lynn’s Mateo Gomez beat Rollins’ Emil Sorebo in a playoff with both shooting 10-under scores of 206. Sorebo set a new tournament low-round with an eight-under 64 to open play.

Lynn has won three of the past four McDonough Cups while Armstrong took the tournament title in 2013. 

Formerly the Rollins Invitational, the Tars’ home tournament was renamed in 2012 to honor former player James McDonough, who passed away at the age of 24 on Feb. 26, 2011 after a tragic accident in Charleston, S.C.

McDonough was born in Boston, raised in Milton, Mass. and started his college career at Rhode Island before transferring to Rollins in 2007. He played three seasons for the Tars, competing in 14 total events. McDonough's top performance came at the 2008 Birmingham Southern Invitational where he tied for second. From the minute McDonough arrived at Rollins, he was a team leader, both on and off the course. His charismatic attitude influenced the entire program and directly led to the Tars' success.

"James loved Rollins and always felt privileged to play under the direction of Coach Kyle Frakes," said James' parents Peggy and Jim.  "We are thrilled and honored that Rollins keeps James's spirit, passion, and dedication to Rollins and golf alive by holding this tournament in his memory." The McDonoughs have also established an endowed scholarship in James name to benefit the Tars men’s golf program.

2016 Scorecard  l 2015 Results l  2014 Results  l  2013 Results  l  2012 Results

About Rio Pinar


Boasting over 50 years, Rio Pinar was first designed in 1957 by Mark Mahanna and features a competitive tree-lined course showcasing several large Florida oaks. With 43 bunkers and a winding canal which runs through five holes, Rio Pinar provides 6,955 yards of challenging championship golf.

From 1966-78, Rio Pinar staged 17 PGA and LPGA championship events, including the annual Florida Citrus Open. Golf icons such as Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino, Hale Irwin and Gary Koch are former winners of the event. Following the 1978 event, the course hosted the Ladies Citrus Classic from 1978-81, an LPGA Tour event. Arnold Palmer won the Florida Citrus Open in 1971. Other notable winners of the tournament include Julius Boros in 1967, Lee Trevino in 1975 and Gary Koch in 1977. The tournament moved to Palmer's Bay Hill in 1979 and was initially named the Bay Hill Citrus Classic and eventually evolved into the Arnold Palmer Invitational.

The course was redesigned in 1995 by Lloyd Clifton and provides challenge with medium-sized greens, strategic bunkering and sometimes-narrow fairways framed by mature pine and oak trees.












GSW Lander LMU