WINTER PARK, Fla. (March 27, 2010) – The Rollins Sports Hall of Fame inducted six new members on Saturday at the Rollins Reunion Weekend 2010 Sports Hall of Fame Breakfast.

Women’s tennis player Lynda Wert Olen (Class of 1975), water skier Benny Lohr (Class of 1999), women’s golfer Jennifer Tollette (Class of 1997), women’s basketball player Jessica Wollaston Stanton (Class of 1999), and men’s basketball players Dr. Stephen Heis (Class of 1976) and David Wolf (Class of 1993, 1995 MBA) were welcomed as the Hall of Fame’s newest members.

Now in its 33rd year, the Rollins Sports Hall of Fame’s roster has grown to 173 of the best and brightest of more than a century of Tars athletics.


Lynda Wert Olen ’75 - Women’s Tennis
Carrying the torch lit by “Dodo” Bundy Cheney, Betty Rosenquest Pratt, Shirley Fry Irvin and a host of others the early years of Rollins’ program, Lynda Wert Olen led the Tars in the 1970’s and planted the seed for their current success. She was a three-year member of the women’s tennis team and also played women’s basketball for one season. On the tennis courts, Olen and doubles partner Beverly Buckley were undefeated throughout their careers and were ranked No. 1 in Division I. Olen’s most prolific season was 1975 as she posted wins in the Florida Collegiate Championships, Florida State Invitational and Southern Collegiate Championships. Also during that year, she led Rollins to a No. 3 ranking in the NCAA.
Benjamin R. Lohr ’99 - Water ski
The Rollins water ski team was a regular in the top-five of the National Collegiate Water Ski National Championships in the 1990’s, due in large part to Benny Lohr. A specialist in tricks, Lohr earned All-America status in each of his four years at Rollins. At the national championships, he was runner-up in tricks in 1996 and led the Tars to a third place finish. The following year, Lohr won tricks and took third place in the overall competition and returned with a fourth place finish overall in 1998. Lohr represented the United States in at the 1998 Correct Craft World University Tournament and won the overall world title, finishing third in tricks and second in jumps.
Jennifer L. Tollette ’97 - Women’s Golf
Leading Rollins and women’s golf during their transition to NCAA Division II status, Jennifer Tollette enjoyed one of the most prolific careers in the history of the sport. She was a four-time NGCA First-team All-America selection, leading the Tars to national prominence. The Minnesota native made an immediate impact as a freshman, finishing runner-up at the NGCA National Championships and followed with another runner-up placing her sophomore year. As a junior in 1996 and in the first year of NCAA competition, Tollette earned her third-straight second place finish and finished her career tying for third at nationals. With Tollette on the roster, the Tars won one national championship and finished second twice.
Jessica Wollaston Stanton ’99 - Women’s Basketball
In 28 years of Sunshine State Conference women’s basketball, Rollins has won 12 regular season and six tournament championships with three of the titles being won by Jessica Wollaston led teams. Wollaston was named to the 1996 SSC All-Freshman team and earned First Team All-Sunshine State Conference honors in 1997, 1998 and 1999. Her senior season, she led the Tars to a 27-3 regular season record and SSC regular season and tournament championships, beating arch-rival Florida Southern in the title game. Also in that season, Wollaston was named Division II Bulletin Honorable Mention All-America. She dots the top-five in six different categories in the Tars all-time record book, including sitting fourth in points.
Stephen D. Heis M.D. ’76 - Men’s Basketball
The Rollins men’s basketball posted a record of 27-6, won Sunshine State Conference regular season and tournament championships and advanced to the title game of the NCAA Division II South Region Championship game this season. All of the current Tars success, however, wouldn’t be possible without Steve Heis and the rest of the Cincinnati Connection. Under the direction of Ed Jucker, Heis and company led the Tars into a new era that now includes nine NCAA post season appearances. The first two berths were Heis led teams in 1974 and 1976. Heis is a member of the 1,000 point club and is third in career scoring among Tars’ centers, while also ranking fifth in career rebounds. He was a member of the 1975 Tangerine Bowl All-Tournament team and competed against more Division I teams than any other center at Rollins.
David D. Wolf ’93 ’95 MBA - Men’s Basketball
The name Wolf has been synonymous with Rollins basketball success for nearly three decades and in the early 1990’s it was David Wolf who led the Tars. During his four years, Rollins posted a record of 82-32, twice won the Sunshine State Conference championship and in 1992 became the first squad to win the SSC regular season and tournament titles in the same season. A true scholar-athlete, Wolf was a four-time member of the SSC All-Academic team and earned an NCAA Post Graduate Scholarship. He was a two-time All-SSC First Team honoree and named the USA Today National Player of the Week in the 1991-92 season. A prolific scorer, Wolf tallied 1,369 points in his career and currently ranks 16th on the Tars all-time list. In 1993, Wolf became the first person in school history to earn both Rollins Male Athlete of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year awards in the same season.