WINTER PARK, Fla. (May 2, 2012) - A total of 28 student-athletes were named to the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Softball Team Wednesday, with six Tars honored, headlined by senior Monica Meadows being tabbed as the Player of the Year in the conference.

Joining Meadows on the All-SSC First Team was junior Aimee Halpin (1B), senior Krista Rodden (2B), and senior Lawna Hunter (OF). Receiving Second Team laurels were seniors Meredith Foster (OF) and Hope Bitzer (P).

Meadows had a stellar senior campaign, ranking near the top of most of the conference's offensive statistical categories. A native of Daphne, Ala., her .414 batting average was second in the league. She led the SSC with 53 runs, 44 RBI, and 22 doubles. She was also best in the conference with a .753 slugging percentage. Her .464 on-base percentage ranked second among SSC players, as did her nine home runs.

In her first season with the Tars, Halpin led the conference in hitting, .418, and finish second in the league behind only Meadows in hits (66), runs scored (50), and doubles (18). She also had a league best 34 stolen bases in 40 attempts.

Even though she was only able to play in 32 games due to injury, Rodden still led all second baseman in homeruns (5) and runs batted in (28). She has now been named to the All-SSC First Team three times in her career.

In her second season after transferring to Rollins from Sante Fe College, Hunter had a breakout year. She ended the regular season as one of only two players to rank in the top five in homeruns (5), batting average (.370), and RBI (41). It was Hunter's first time being named to the All-Conference Team.

In her third year with Rollins, Foster started every game in left field for the Tars. Highlights of her senior campaign include a career day back on February 26th in a game against visiting Kentucky State where she hit two home runs and tied a career high with five runs batted in. She ended the regular season with a .308 batting average with four home runs and 35 RBI.

Bitzer, the reigning SSC Pitcher of the Year, finished her second season with the Tars with a 21-5 record and a 1.17 ERA, which was good for fifth best in the conference. The Longwood, Fla. native struck out 216 batters in 179.0 innings pitched with opponents batting at a modest .179 clip. It was her second time being named to the All-SSC teams in her career.

Rollins will travel to Valdosta, Ga. for the 2012 NCAA Division II South Region Tournament beginning Friday, May 4 when the Tars take on fifth seeded Alabama-Hunstville. Game time is set for 4:30 pm E.T. Fans can follow along on the Tars Sports Network at


1B - Aimee Halpin (Rollins, Jr)

2B - Krista Rodden (Rollins, Sr)
3B - Sarah Broeseker (Barry, Jr)
SS - Natalia Ojeda (Barry, Jr)
C - Becky Vyzas (Tampa, Sr)
OF - Grace Collins (Barry, Sr)
OF - Lawna Hunter (Rollins, Sr)
OF - Monica Meadows (Rollins, Sr)
OF - Karlyn Scott (Florida Southern, Sr)
DP - Jessica Tabor (Barry, Sr)
UT - Brianna Smith (Barry, Sr)
P - Kayla Cox (Tampa, So)
P - Deanna Henriott (Tampa, Sr)
At-Large - Katie Kelton (Nova Southeastern, Sr)

Player of the Year - Monica Meadows, Rollins
Pitcher of the Year - Deanna Henriott, Tampa
Freshman of the Year - Meagan Burke, Tampa
Coach of the Year - Leslie Kanter, Tampa

1B - Meagan Burke (Tampa, Fr)
2B - Alex Sasso (Eckerd, Sr)
3B - Brittany Martin (Florida Southern, Sr)
SS - Jaimee Vega (Nova Southeastern, Jr)
C - Brittany Yates (Saint Leo, Sr)
OF - Meredith Foster (Rollins, Sr)
OF - Alex Garris (Saint Leo, Jr)
OF - Alyssa Goldsmith (Barry, Sr)
OF - Lorena Spaulding (Nova Southeastern, Fr)
DP - Laura Saladrigas (Nova Southeastern, Jr)
UT - Lauren Cole (Florida Tech, Sr)
P - Hope Bitzer (Rollins, Sr)
P - Christine Clark (Florida Southern, Sr)
At-Large - Sara DeMuth (Nova Southeastern, Sr)