WINTER PARK, Fla. (May 16, 2012) - Representing Rollins in the 2012 All-Sunshine State Conference Baseball Team were seniors Kevin Mager and Sean Reilly along with sophomore Zach Persky.  All three were named All-SSC Second Team honorees, it was announced Wednesday.

Hailing from Solon, Ohio, Zach Persky led the Tars offense with a .342 clip and led the team in hits and triples and was second in at-bats, doubles and RBI.  He was 8-for-10 in stolen bases and posted a .451 slugging percentage and .401 on base percentage.  His 63 hits on the season, along with 184 at-bats ranked third in the league while his three triples was tied for fourth-best in the SSC.  The 6-1 outfielder recorded 20 multi-hit games and six multi-RBI performances.

Senior first baseman Kevin Mager was second in hitting with a .332 average in 49 games played.  He tallied a second-best 61 hits (7th - SSC) and led the team with 35 runs.  He had 13 extra-base hits and also led the team with 35 RBI (9th - SSC) while posting a .435 slugging percentage and .416 on base percentage.  Around the bases he was 9-of-10 and led the team with 27 walks (5th - SSC).  Prior to the start of the 2012 season, Mager was named to the 2012 Tino Martinez Award Watch List. 

Catcher Sean Reilly was the final Tar to be an All-SSC Second Team selection.  The senior batted .270 on the season on 47 hits with a team-leading 12 doubles and three home runs.  He scored 23 runs while driving in 33.  He finished his senior campaign with a .391 slugging percentage and a .350 on base percentage.

Earning 2012 SSC Player of the Year honors was Nova Southeastern's Carlos Asuaje and Lynn's Anthony Boza.  Pitcher of the Year went to Tampa's Sean Bierman while Brandon Collins of Saint Leo was named Freshman of the Year.  Sharing Coach of the Year honors were LU's Rudy Garbalosa and UT's Joe Urso.

Rollins concluded the 2012 season with an overall record of 28-22 and a 9-15 Sunshine State Conference mark.


1B - Ryan McChesney (Florida Tech, Sr)
2B - Carlos Asuaje (Nova Southeastern, So)
3B - Mike Snyder (Florida Southern, Sr)
SS - K.C. Clabough (Florida Tech, Sr)
C - Austin Chubb (Florida Southern, Sr)
OF - Zach Gawrych (Tampa, So)
OF - Andrew Jones (Tampa, Sr)
OF - Areo Regoli (Nova Southeastern, Sr)
OF - Austin Smith (Lynn, Sr)
DH - Anthony Boza (Lynn, Sr)
UT - Cory Jensen (Florida Southern, Sr)
SP - Sean Bierman (Tampa, Sr)
SP - Shawn Kale (Lynn, Sr)
SP - Ben O'Shea (Tampa, Jr)
SP - Zach Westcott (Nova Southeastern, So)
RP - James Mannara (Florida Tech, Jr)

Player of the Year - Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern
Player of the Year - Anthony Boza, Lynn
Pitcher of the Year - Sean Bierman, Tampa
Freshman of the Year - Brendan Collins, Saint Leo
Coach of the Year - Rudy Garbalosa, Lynn
Coach of the Year - Joe Urso, Tampa

1B - Kevin Mager (Rollins, Sr)
2B - Mike Diorio (Lynn, Sr)
3B - Damon Elder (Tampa, Sr)
SS - Alex Del Monte (Eckerd, Sr)
C - Sean Reilly (Rollins, Sr)
OF - Keith Curcio (Florida Southern, Fr)
OF - Brendan Collins (Saint Leo, Fr)
OF - Connor Obrochta (Tampa, So)
OF - Zach Persky (Rollins, So)
DH - Heath Pritchard (Tampa, Sr)
UT - Eric Grabe (Tampa, Sr)
SP - Jason Boyer (Florida Tech, Jr)
SP - Ben Brown (Tampa, Jr)
SP - Joey Cuda (Eckerd, Sr)
SP - Nick Krolczyk (Florida Southern, So)
RP - Preston Packrall (Tampa, So)

SP - Rick Teasley (Saint Leo, Jr)