WINTER PARK, Fla. (May 23, 2012)- The Rollins women's lacrosse team notched a few more postseason awards with five Tars making the Synapse Sports Postseason awards list with head coach Dennis Short being named Coach of the Year, while Courtney Bianculli was tabbed at Defender of the Year.

Bianculli led a strong defense for the Tars as they ranked fourth in Division II in scoring defense, while ranking 12th in the country individually in caused turnovers and fourth in ground balls. The Setauket, N.Y. native notched seven points on the season and was a vital part of starting the offensive attack with her speed and defensive positioning.

Head coach Dennis Short led the Tars to their most successful season in program history with the Tars securing their first NCAA Tournament berth with a No.1 seed in the tournament. Rollins holds a .701 winning percentage in the first five years of the program including a 15-2 mark in 2012.

Joining Bianculli on the First Team All-American was fellow defender Katie Palasz and offensive threat Erica Pagliarulo. Palasz was also a force to be reckoned with on the defensive side of the ball as she ranked in the Top 10 nationally in caused turnovers and ground balls. Pagliarulo enjoyed a dominant offensive season with 46 goals and five assists to give the junior the a total of 51 points, which was second best on the team.

Sophie Townsend was selected to the Second Team, while Chelsea Pinneke was named to the All-Rookie Squad. The duo combined for 51 points and started a combined 28 games for the Tars, which helped propel the Tars to a 15 game winning-streak.

Fans check for all the latest news and information on Rollins athletics.