WINTER PARK, Fla. (April 13, 2011) - Some of the top teams in all of Division II will descend on Boca Raton, April 18-19 for the 2011 Sunshine State Conference Championships.

The 54-hole event will be hosted by Lynn University at Boca Country Club. Both men's and women's tournaments begin with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, April 18. The second round is set for Monday afternoon with a final 18 holes slated for Tuesday, April 19.

The Rollins men have won five SSC titles in the tournament's history, most recently back-to-back trophies in 2002 and 2003. Kyle Frakes was named the conference's top coach in each of those seasons with Rob Oppenheim earning Player of the Year honors in 2002 and Alex Smith in 2003.

Last season, the Tars finished fifth in the nine-team tournament, totaling 850 (282-282-286) strokes. Their opening round tied for the best of the first 18-holes. Hunter Stone was the top finisher, shooting rounds of 75-65-70 to tie for eighth with a three under 210.

The 2010-11 Tars have averaged an eighth-place finish in seven tournaments. They finished the fall season strong with a runner-up finish at the Rollins Invitational at Forest Lake Golf Club. Stone and Spencer Cole were each two under on the weekend and tied for fourth place to lead the Tars. Rollins' last time out was a 14th place finish at the Georgia College Intercollegiate.

Five SSC teams are represented in the latest Division II GolfWorld/Nike Coaches Poll. Lynn is ranked No. 2, Barry No. 6, Nova Southeastern No. 14 and Florida Southern No. 22. Rollins received votes.  

The Rollins women have won more SSC championships than any other team. Since the new millennium, the Tars have captured seven titles, most recently in 2009. Joanna Coe and Brianna Seo tied for first and led Rollins to a seven-stroke victory over Nova Southeastern. Coe won a two-hole playoff over Seo and Nova Southeastern's Maria Garcia Austt to claim medalist honors.

Last season, Rollins finished third behind eventual national champion Nova Southeastern and rival Florida Southern. Coe was the Tars' top finisher, tying for seventh with a score of 225.

Rollins has averaged a fifth place finish in nine events, having played largely a Division II schedule. They took fourth at the 36th annual Peggy Kirk Bell Invitational at the beginning of March and followed with a dual match victory over Harvard. Coe shot a round of 70 to post a five-shot victory in the event. Rollins' last match was a 17th place finish at the Ole Miss Rebel Intercollegiate.

Seven SSC teams can be found on the Golf World/NGCA Division II Coaches Poll, including three of the top four spots. Nova Southeastern tops the rankings and is followed by Florida Southern in second. Rollins checks in at No. 4, Saint Leo No. 11, and Barry No. 22. Lynn and Florida Tech received votes.

Fans can follow the 2011 Sunshine State Conference men's and women's golf championships live at