WINTER PARK, Fla. – Rollins College held its annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet Monday evening.  Many student-athletes received nominations for the prestigious awards, with the Rollins Sports community taking home a number of honors.

Women's basketball player Vernisha Andrews was awarded the ‘Find Your Anchor Award,' given to someone who truly “found their anchor” on campus.

Men's basketball player Zach Ullian and volleyball player MaryBethany Vincent were both honored with the ‘Rollins Role Model Award.'  This award is given to individuals who have consistently demonstrated the values of Rollins, and who others aspire to emulate.

Men's swimmer Arron Nestor was named a ‘Student Leader of the Year.' This honor was given to those who have demonstrated the highest level of leadership and a strong and lasting impact in multiple areas of campus.

Women's basketball player Tianna Rosser was honored as a ‘Peer Educator of the Year.' This award is given to individuals who are known for modeling positive behavior and enhancing learning opportunities for their peers in direct ways.

Women's swimmer Brigid Cotter was named a ‘Unsung Hero of the Year.'  This honor is given to those who exemplify silent leadership and whose work has had a significant impact on the Rollins community. They are characterized by humility, rarely seeking recognition for the work they do.

Five Tars' student-athletes received one of Rollins highest honors, the Fiat Lux Award.  The Fiat Lux awards honor current outstanding seniors at Rollins for their positive contributions to our campus and community in the areas of academics, leadership, inclusion, service, etc. This award is given to recognize the most established and honorable leaders on campus and is the highest honor given at the annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet.  Women's country runners Abigail Goecker and Meghan Wallace, sailing team crew member Natesh Kirpalani, men's basketball player Sam Philpott, and women's basketball player Tanaya Jones all took home the award.