skip navigation

Tars Shine at Student Achievement Awards

Tars Shine at Student Achievement Awards

WINTER PARK, Fla. – Prior to graduation a group of exemplary students were honored for their work in the classroom and around campus at the Student Achievement Awards Banquet.  Among those honored were a number of student-athletes.

Erin Snyder, a member of the crew team, was honored as the Sorority Leader of the Year.  Madison Jenkins, a volleyball player, took home the Academic Award in the Business Division; Megan Welliver, a member of the women's soccer team, won the Academic Award for Math and Sciences; and finally, Luke Parsley, of the men's cross-country team, captured the Academic Award for Interdisciplinary Majors.

The evening concluded with the presentation of the Fiat Lux Awards.  Considered the highest honor a Rollins College student can achieve, Fiat Lux Awards are presented to outstanding seniors who have made positive contributions toward illuminating the campus and community.  Recipients must have grade point average of 3.0 or higher and have demonstrated excellence in contributing to campus life at Rollins via academics, athletics, diversity, campus and community involvement, and leadership.  This year, of the 17 students to receive the honor eight were student athletes.  Vernisha Andrews, of the women's basketball team, Lizzie Berry, of the women's crew team, Jakobi Bonner, of the men's basketball team, Jade Grimes, of the women's swim team, Nicole Hubert, of both the women's cross country and crew teams, Cameron Robinson, of both the men's and women's crew teams, Greg Taicher, of the men's lacrosse team, and Megan Welliver, of the women's soccer team, all took home the prestigious honor.

For the latest news, updates, and information on Rollins athletics, fans can visit Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest #TARnation news by following Rollins Sports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.