skip navigation

D2 Bulletin Ranks Rollins No. 10 in Preseason Poll

Connor Mckim
Connor Mckim

BEAVERTON, Ore. (October 12, 2017) – Returning three starters and 11 letterwinners from its Elite Eight team of a year ago, Rollins men's basketball checked in at No. 10 in the D2 Bulletin Preseason Poll

The D2 Bulletin listed Rollins, Barry and Eckerd in that order, as the top teams in the Sunshine State Conference. Barry's Elvar Fridricksson was named the SSC preseason Player of the Year.

Defending national champion Northwest Missouri State topped the ranking, followed by Quincy, St. Thomas Aquinas, Shippensburg and Chico State.

Top scorers Sam Philpott and Jeff Merton return to lead the Tars attack. Philpott averaged 15.3 points and 4.1 rebounds per game while Merton put up 14.7 points and 5.7 rebounds a night. Merton was second team All-SSC a year ago and was MVP of both the SSC Tournament and South Region Tournament.

Last season SSC Freshman of the Year Connor Mckim returns to run the point after putting up 10.1 points and 3.9 assists a game.

Head coach Tom Klusman brings a career record of 677-393 into his 38th season leading his alma mater.

The Tars were 8-8 midseason a year ago before going on a historic run, resulting in a second-ever trip to the Elite Eight. Rollins finished the year 24-11, including Sunshine State Conference Tournament and NCAA Division II South Region championships.

Rollins starts the 2017-18 season hosting the SSC/SIAC South Region Crossover at Warden Arena November 10-11. The Tars open with Clark-Atlanta at 3 p.m. and Morehouse on Saturday, Nov. 11 against Morehouse.

For the latest news, updates, and information on the Rollins men's basketball team, fans can visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest #TARnation news by following Rollins Sports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

2017-18 Division II Bulletin Preseason Poll

1 Northwest Missouri St. 35-1
2 Queens (N.C.) 30-4
3 St. Thomas Aquinas 28-6
4 Shippensburg 27-4
5 Chico State 26-8
6 Bellarmine 32-4
7 Lincoln Memorial 30-6
8 Indiana (Pa.) 28-4
9 Colo. School of Mines 30-5
10 Rollins 24-11
11 UT-Permian Basin 26-6
12 Ferris State 28-5
13 California Baptist 26-5
14 Southwest Minn. St. 28-6
15 Merrimack 19-12
16 Barry 23-7
17 Fort Lewis 26-7
18 West Liberty 28-4
19 Indianapolis 16-12
20 Arkansas Monticello 23-7
21 West Texas A&M 26-9
22 Delta State 23-9
23 UNC Pembroke 24-8
24 Western Washington 25-6
25 Kentucky Wesleyan 28-3