skip navigation

2018 Sunshine State Conference Men’s Lacrosse Tournament Seedings Announced

Photo Credit: Mike Watters Photography
Photo Credit: Mike Watters Photography

Rollins Enters into 2018 Tournament as the No. 4 Seed

WINTER PARK, Fla. (April 21, 2018) – After missing out on the 2017 Sunshine State Conference Tournament due to a three-way tie and coin-flip decision, the Rollins men's lacrosse team has made their triumphant return to the SSC Tournament in 2018.  With a regular season record of 7-6 and 4-3 in Sunshine State Conference action, the Rollins men's lacrosse team enters into the Sunshine State Conference Tournament as the No. 4 seed.

PDF Bracket | MLAX Tournament Page

The Tars will take on No. 1 seed Saint Leo University on Thursday, April 26, in the SSC Tournament Semifinals.  The Tars and Lions will square off in a 7 p.m. contest, which will be hosted by the top-seed Lions at University Turf Stadium on the campus of Saint Leo University in Saint Leo, Fla.  The No. 3 seed University of Tampa Spartans and second seed Florida Tech Panthers will get the tournament under way, opening up with a 3 p.m. matchup at the stadium.

Ticket prices will be for all day admittance and will be for cash only at the gate. The prices for the tournament will be as follows: $10 for general admission, while students from SSC institutions are admitted free with proper school ID. 

The top four teams in the SSC standings were granted seeds based on their in-conference record. After finishing the conference undefeated, Saint Leo University (13-1, 7-0) has earned the No. 1 seed in the SSC postseason tournament. The Lions breakup the University of Tampa's four-year streak on league men's lacrosse titles. Saint Leo will host No. 4 seed Rollins College (7-6, 4-3) in the opening round of the tournament.

Previously this season, the Lions bested the Tars, 11-10, on April 4th in Saint Leo. Goalkeeper Thomas Tatarian recorded 23 saves for Saint Leo in the win, while Jake Gilmour led the team with five points (2g, 3a). Jackson Colling and Connor Ashton paced Rollins in the contest. Colling tied Gilmour with a game-high five points (1g, 4a) and Ashton scored a game-high three goals.

Florida Tech (9-5, 6-1) claims the No. 2 seed after falling to Saint Leo in the regular season finale. The Panthers regrouped after a 1-4 start to win eight of their last nine games. FIT will play No. 3 seed Tampa (13-4, 5-2) in the opening round. The Panthers edged the Spartans, 7-6, during the March 21st regular season matchup. It was a battle of the goalies as Dan Flock (FIT) and B.J. Borowski (UT) both recorded double-digit saves.

Both semifinals will be played at University Turf Stadium in Saint Leo on April 26th. The championship final will be played on Sunday, April 29th at 1:00 p.m. on the campus of Saint Leo University.

Thursday, April 26th - Semifinals 

No. 3 Tampa vs No. 2 Florida Tech | 3:00 PM

No. 2 Rollins vs. No. 1 Saint Leo | 7:00 PM

Sunday, April 29th - Championship  

TBD vs. TBD – 1:00 PM


For more information on the tournament and to visit the conference site click here.


For the latest news, updates, and information on the Rollins men's lacrosse team, fans can visit  Fans can also stay up-to-date on the latest #TARnation news by following Rollins Sports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.