skip navigation

SSC Names Greg Taicher Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

SSC Names Greg Taicher Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

MELBOURNE, Fla. (June 11, 2019) – Rollins men's lacrosse senior captain Greg Taicher has been named the Sunshine State Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Ed Pasque announced Tuesday. 

With Elizabeth Berry winning the female award earlier in the week, Rollins has swept both SSC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors for the second time in the award's history (2003-04; Mark Thompson and Charlotte Campbell). Taicher is the first men's lacrosse player in the history of the conference to be the Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

Taicher earned a degree in Communication Studies this past semester while earning a Fiat Lux Award, which is presented to outstanding seniors who have made positive contributions toward illuminating the campus and community. Rollins named Taicher to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll, Dean's List, and President's List eight times during his college career. Also  a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and Captain Council, he became the first student-athlete named to the school's Student Government Association executive board when he was voted Vice President for 2018-19. 

On the field, Taicher was a second team All-SSC honoree and earned a United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Team of the Week award this season. The attackman finished seventh in conference goals per game (2.46), assists per game (1.54), and points per game (4.00). He also led the Tars to a 10-5 record and the No. 3 seed in the conference tournament. The three-time team captain and three-time All-SSC honoree will earn SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll status for the fourth time in his career. Taicher leaves Rollins as the program's all-time leader in points, goals and assists. 

He is the fifth Rollins student-athlete to be honored as SSC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year since the award was created in 1995-96. Previous Tars to win the award were: John Smith (Soccer - 1996-97), Tony Amato (Soccer - 1999-00), Mike Veith (Basketball - 2001-02), and Mark Thompson (Tennis - 2003-04). 

Complete Listing: SSC Scholar-Athletes of the Year