skip navigation

Rollins Men Grabs Two Medals at John Hunter

Rollins men's novice 4 at the John Hunter Regatta
Rollins men's novice 4 at the John Hunter Regatta

GAINESVILLE, Ga. (March 25, 2018) – The Rollins men's rowing team traveled to the site of the 1996 Olympics for the 2018 John Hunter Regatta on Lake Lanier over the weekend.

Complete Results

The Tars competed against 15-plus entries in each event, competing in the Varsity 4 and Novice 4 races.

The Varsity 4 (Alyssa Rabade, Enzo Romano, Michael Pakuris, Connor Stolp, Cameron Boyd) had 21 crews at the start. Rollins started the day winning their heat in a stroke-for-stroke battle from start to finish, grabbing a spot in the Grand Final later the afternoon. In the finals, the Tars were unable to get on the medal stand and finished fourth behind Alabama, Georgia Tech and Florida State. As much as the boat was fighting to make the podium, the finish and fourth-fastest time was huge with so many schools entered.

Three of the guys from the Varsity four stayed in their seat and rowed in the Novice 4 as well. Robinson Koger joined Stolp, Pakuris, Romano and Landon Higginbotham and competed in the final flight. Rollins finished third in the flight and ended with the fourth fastest time of the 22 boats entered.

The Varsity and Novice 4 both must find more speed to be in the top tier of boats, but with the continued work and technique changes, this is not and unrealistic goal.    

"The team is small this year but our guys don't sit and mope about it" said Tars Head Coach Shawn Pistor.  "They show up ready to work and committed to themselves and their teammates."

The team has a much-needed week off and they are looking to find good speed over the next two weeks as they prepare for FIRA in Sarasota.  

The Tars will be entering the same two boats and have their sights on beating teams that edged them out this week and showing new teams they will need to bring their best to beat us.

Rollins will be back on the water April 6-7 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota for the FIRA Championship.