skip navigation

No. 9 Rollins Ready to Tee Up 2018 SSC Championship

Madison Lellyo
Madison Lellyo

BOCA RATON, Fla. (April 13, 2018) – The winningest program in Sunshine State Conference history will look to add to its championship total at the 2018 SSC Tournament April 15-18. Lynn University is serving as host of the event at Osprey Point in Boca Raton.


Statistically the strongest conference in the nation, the Tars enter the tournament ranked No. 9 in the latest GolfStat Relative Rankings. Top-ranked Nova Southeastern, No. 4 Saint Leo, No. 5 Barry, No. 6 Florida Southern and No. 10 Lynn join Rollins as title favorites. Eckerd, Embry-Riddle, Florida Tech, Palm Beach Atlantic and Tampa round out the field.

NSU comes in as the defending champions, having posted a record 24-over 888 at the Country Club of Winter Haven, beating Saint Leo by five strokes. Charlotte Puts of Barry was the individual medalist, shooting even par 216.

Rollins was sixth in the 2017 championship, shooting a 906 (296-299-311). Seher Atwal led the way, posting an eight-over 224 and tying for 11th. Madison Lelly (229, +13) tied for 20th

The 2018 Tars have four top-five finishes on the year, including a win at the Christian Brothers Buccaneer Spring Classic. Rollins was also third at the season-opening Princeton Invitational and most recently third at the Harvard Invitational to close the regular season.

Seher Atwal is ranked 17th in the nation and leads the Tars with a 74.29 stroke average. The sophomore has five top-10 finishes in eight events this year, highlighted by a tie for third at the Princeton Invite and victory at the Harvard Invitational.

Madison Lellyo is second on the team with a 76.07 stroke average and four top-10 finishes while Lexie Toth carries a 76.44 stroke average and one top-five place. Selin timur (78.00 avg.) and Lara van Staden (78.80 avg.) are also in the line-up for the Tars at the conference championship

Rollins is grouped with Florida Southern and Lynn in the opening round and will tee off starting at 8:55 a.m. on Sunday, April 15. LIVE SCORING