skip navigation

Tars Earn NCAA Bid for 19th-Straight Season

Jennifer Jung
Jennifer Jung

Indianapolis, Ind. (April 29, 2019) – The Rollins women's golf team earned a 19th-consecutive berth into the NCAA Division II Super Region Tournament, it was announced Monday. 

Rollins is the No. 9 seed in the tournament, hosted by Lee University in Cleveland, Tennessee May 6-8. 

Each site will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently with 12 teams and 6 individuals from non-qualifying teams at each site. All participants will compete through the 54 holes of competition. The top four teams along with the top four individuals not with a team from each super regional will advance to the championships. 

Since the NCAA Division II Tournament was established in 2000, the national champion has come from the South Region all but two years. 

Topped ranked Barry leads the field in the South Region, followed by Nova Southeastern and Sunshine State Conference Champion Lynn. No. 4, Florida Tech, No. 5 Saint Leo, No. 7 Florida Southern and No. 8 Tampa join the Tars carrying the conference flag at the event. 

South Regional
Cleveland Country Club
Cleveland, Tennessee
Host: Lee University 

1. Barry
2. Nova Southeastern
3. Lynn [Sunshine State Conference]
4. Florida Tech
5. Saint Leo
6. Limestone [Conference Carolinas]
7. Florida Southern
8. Tampa
9. Rollins
10. Lee [Gulf South Conference]
11. Flagler [Peach Belt Conference]
12. Anderson (South Carolina) [South Atlantic Conference] 

1. Warissa Paungcharoen, Wingate
2. Franziska Bremm, West Georgia
3. Lise Malherbe, Lincoln Memorial
4. Abbey Hartsell, Lenoir-Rhyne
5. Maeve Cummins, Carson-Newman
6. Solange Gomez, West Florida 

Rollins finished runner-up at the Regional Championship a year ago, battling Barry and finishing eight strokes back of the Bucs. Nova Southeastern also got through to Nationals. Madison Lellyo led the way for Rollins, finishing fifth at the Regional Championship while Seher Atwal tied for sixth. 

The Tars closed the year with an eighth place finish at the NCAA Division II National Championship. 

The 2019 championships will be held May 14-18 at PGA National Resort and Spa in West Palm Beach, Florida.